Key Contact


Bosnia and Herzegovina

Bosnia and Herzegovina has been subject to US sanctions since 2001 and EU sanctions since 2011. Both regimes impose restrictive measures, including asset freezes and travel bans, on individuals and legal entities whose activities have been deemed to undermine the sovereignty and territorial integrity of the country, and represent a serious threat to the country’s security situation. Last year, the EU renewed its sanctions on Bosnia and Herzegovina until 31 March 2019.



In 2008, the EU issued travel bans against individuals involved in a campaign of intimidation against Latin-script schools in Transnistria, a breakaway region located between Moldova and Ukraine, as part of efforts to encourage a political settlement in the territory. Though the sanctions programme remains active, all of the targeted individuals have since been de-listed.


Serbia and Montenegro

The EU, US and UN have imposed various sanctions following the break-up of the former Federal Republic of Yugoslavia in 1992. This included a blanket arms embargo across all former Yugoslav states, as well as specific economic and trade sanctions, including asset freezes, primarily focused on Serbia and Montenegro. These sanctions affected import-export, shipping, energy and other sectors. Following the overthrow of former Yugoslav President Milosevic in 2000, however, the sanctions began to be repealed, and the majority had been withdrawn by 19 January 2001. EU sanctions were formally repealed in April 2015.